SWOT Analysis 2

SWOT-Analysis

What is SWOT?

SWOT analysis (alternatively SWOT matrix) is a structured planning method used to evaluate the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats involved in a project or in a business venture. A SWOT analysis can be carried out for a product, place, industry or person.

Strengths

  • What advantages do you have that others don’t have (for example, skills, certifications, education, or connections)?
  • What do you do better than anyone else?
  • What personal resources can you access?
  • What do other people (and your boss, in particular) see as your strengths?
  • Which of your achievements are you most proud of?
  • What values do you believe in that others fail to exhibit?
  • Are you part of a network that no one else is involved in? If so, what connections do you have with influential people?
  • Weaknesses

    • What tasks do you usually avoid because you don’t feel confident doing them?
    • What will the people around you see as your weaknesses?
    • Are you completely confident in your education and skills training? If not, where are you weakest?
    • What are your negative work habits (for example, are you often late, are you disorganized, do you have a short temper, or are you poor at handling stress)?
    • Do you have personality traits that hold you back in your field? For instance, if you have to conduct meetings on a regular basis, a fear of public speaking would be a major weakness.

Opportunities

  • What new technology can help you? Or can you get help from others or from people via the Internet?
  • Is your industry growing? If so, how can you take advantage of the current market?
  • Do you have a network of strategic contacts to help you, or offer good advice?
  • What trends (management or otherwise) do you see in your company, and how can you take advantage of them?
  • Are any of your competitors failing to do something important? If so, can you take advantage of their mistakes?
  • Is there a need in your company or industry that no one is filling?

Threats

  • What obstacles do you currently face at work?
  • Are any of your colleagues competing with you for projects or roles?
  • Is your job (or the demand for the things you do) changing?
  • Does changing technology threaten your position?
  • Could any of your weaknesses lead to threats?

My strengths in learning

  1. Learning agility- a quick learner
  2. Keen and eager for knowledge
  3. Organized and systematic learning styles
  4. Problem solving skills- Able to identify and define problems, analyze problems to find causes

My weaknesses in learning

  1. Procrastination and laziness
  2. Not determined
  3. Lack of self-discipline
  4. Reacting without thinking

My opportunities 

  1. Getting 4A* in Cambridge A level
  2. Secure a place in JPA oversea/local scholarship
  3. Be actively involved in school activities and contest for posts in different clubs
  4. Get ready for IELTS and SAT test for the sake of studying oversea My

My threats

  1. Laziness will make me slow and uncommitted in my studies
  2. Peer pressure and influence
  3. Addiction towards video games and computer games
  4. Away from home and feeling homesick

SWOT Analysis can help me in my academic results. By identifying my strength and weaknesses, I will be able to augment my strengths so that they can propel me in obtaining good results and desired career. I can also change some of my bad habits such as procrastination so that my weaknesses did not hinder me from getting success. The opportunities and threats that I discovered through this analysis are also important as they can either push me up or pull me down ( harshly ) while I am doing my A-level. In order to excel in my studies, I need to grab onto the listed opportunities and make sure they do not slip away. As for the threats, I will need big efforts and dedication to eliminate them. I believe that this analysis can provide me with a clear picture of what I am going to do in the following 2 years.

Leave a comment