Reflection 2 – DIEP

By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.

Confucius

Describe my goal:

The mighty King under the Mountain, the noble elves, the Wizard of Dalaran, Red Queen Alexstraza and the Lady of the Lake; my childhood age and my high school life were full of these fantasy characters. I am most excited when reading fantasy novel, every page and every words can invoke creative thoughts and bring about vivid imagination. When I read about Gandalf, Harry Potter, Bilbo Baggins and their exciting adventures, I just can’t sit still because I feel like recreating their stories, using my characters, set in my fantasy utopia and most importantly, told and convey to the readers by my writing. That is my goal, to create my own set of fantasy novel that is on the par of The Lord of The Ring, The Inheritance Cycle, World of Warcraft or any other famous classic fantasy novel you have heard of. Every night when I lay down on bed, I like to visit my own fantasy world and think of exciting plots to be included in my series ( consist of 5 books to be precise)  – they will be real pager-turner, catching millions of readers and emerge as one of the bestselling fantasy novel of all time. But of course I cannot just sit here and picture all the glory moments inside my head without giving any real and actual commitment.

Interpret my goal:

To start writing is not hard; to continue and round up the plot will be difficult. To successfully create a set of good novel, especially fantasy novel, I need to create a character who can catch people’s attention and draw their love towards him, just like Harry Potter the Chosen One. Writing book also means that I need to commit my energy, my free time and sacrifice some other entertainment so that I can progress as planned. From what I understand from my goal, I need to create a 5 books fantasy novel series in Mandarin and translate it to English myself so that it gain market values. The first book in the series must be able to sell well and must receive critical acclaim by many other so that people will look forward to my next and following books. I also see that I need to create many exciting plot, climax, conspiracy and hidden information inside every page so that the content of my books are not empty and shallow. I will also need a lot more reading to achieve this goal because every authors’ writing are my source of inspiration.

Evaluate my goal:

My goal is considered achievable since I already started working out my first book. S.M.A.R.T. goal setting is what I used to guide me in evaluating my goal. First of all my goal is pretty specific as I only target one genre of book and I have a clear picture of how the story will develop and how to convey my messages through my characters. My goal is also measurable as I target that my first book, if successfully published, must hit a sale of 10000 copies in Malaysia so that it can attract people from oversea to buy it. It is also attainable as I always participate and win prizes in essay writing competition during high school. I believe that people like my writing, and as long as I am determined I can attain it. It is also relevant to me because my hobby is reading and writing. What can be more pleasurable to a book worm than creating his own book? Lastly it is also time-bound, as I will finish my first book before my A level ends.

Plan my goal:

Here’s the outline of what I am going to do in the next two year in order to achieve my goal. First I will commit by taking 3 hours of my weekend to just sit down and write down my ideas and thoughts about how and where the story will lead the readers to. Then I will do the writing and amending job. I will then send to my readers ( my friends and my parents ) to analyze and evaluate my writing. I should be able to finish one chapter every week. At the end of my A level, I will compile all my writing and send it to major publishers ( and pray hard ) for it to be published.

I know that if I can achieve it, it will inspire more people to read and write. That will be a pleasant phenomena in this age of electronic media where books get less and less love from people. I will put my faith in the power of words and hope that mine can achieve me my goal.

Leave a comment